Night owl or Lark

It’s a couple of days since my last blog and it’s taken me most of the day to summon up the right amount of enthusiasm to write one.

Everyone suffers when they have too little sleep or are just weary.  Atthe beginning of Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project, she decides to try and get the right amount of sleep instead of watching an extra TV programme.  I did not make this rule for myself, however, I did think that I would just go to bed when tired instead of denying that’s how I felt.  Interestingly  I found myself going to bed earlier and earlier, and waking earlier and earlier.  Nothing wrong with this,  I hear you say.  Actually, for me there is.

It goes against my long built up sleep patterns.  As an entertainer I work late and it’s impossible to suddenly switch it around to being a morning person.  I have long held the belief that I am, in fact, allergic to mornings.  My favourite way to wake up is quietly.  Alarms grate on every nerve and make me feel annoyed.  Once I am conscious, I still need quiet.

My ex-husband was a morning person.  He would wake up with a happy and loud “Good morning!”  and insist on holding conversations even though the only response I gave was an “ugh!”, which translated into any language means “be quiet and leave me alone.”  Having never learnt my morning tongue, we usually ended up having a huge argument as I got more and more wound up.  This was not the reason we divorced but if there is anything positive about that institution, it was the return to quiet mornings.

Luckily for me, my now husband is also an entertainer and a night owl.  Mornings for him are not the best time of day, so we gently wake up over the course of an hour in silence.  Sixteen years later we are still together so it works for us.

Going to bed early is a no no.  We need to be ready to entertain until the wee small hours.  In fact we can spend day feeling exhausted and only become compos mantis just as most people would be retiring.  The difficulty though is when we have a few nights of going to bed after 2am.  In my youth, it seemed easier but now….oh dear.  Age has caught up and I need my 8 hours, but it only works if I am in bed before 2.  I blame the scientists for figuring out our body clocks, Rem sleep patterns and educating us.

Maybe, if work had made me feel so exhausted, I would feel rewarded.  However, on my previous post I blogged about visitors.  So I have concluded that perhaps being in the Jacuzzi till 2am when you have visitors has the same effect as working till that time and is the least conducive to writing.

My resolution therefore, is to sleep earlier and write more.  It’s just today you will have to excuse my ramblings!!

image

Leave a Reply

