Get rich quick

We have always had a phrase within our family, that there is no such thing as a free lunch.  If something looks too good to be true, then is usually is.

 

I had someone contact me through my blog and I have just spent the entire afternoon listening to high sales pitches from various videos about how to make money and change my life for $25 per month.  My head is ringing and many a time my finger hovered over the buy now button.  Yes, I want to change my life. Yes, I would like to earn a little more money.  So many testimonials, so much pressure.  In fact, I did press the buy now button but I didn’t fill out any of the forms.  If I had done, $25 per month would disappear from my bank account for time immemorial.  And the product they were selling? A viral blog selling high value goods.

 

it all sounded fantastic but I remember coming across something like this a few years ago.  Another get rich scheme, but the guy in charge of that set up actually admitted to being ruthless and selling online self help books to people who were too “stupid”  (his words not mine) to realise they were just get rich schemes for the sellers and he actually stated he didn’t care if the books didn’t help.  He was preying on the vulnerable in order to own a big house and top of the range sports car.  What’s scary is that I see his style of blog page and the “download the book” button on so many pages.

 

While eventually I would like to sell my own book via my blog and I don’t want to decry anyone else doing it, I can’t help but worry about the culture that makes you pay for a little common sense.  I want to gain knowledge about building a better site and I want gain information about how to do it, but I can’t help feeling these things are all too good to be true.  They seem to be based on the old pyramid selling schemes, where the only people really making money are the guys at the top.  Is it crazy that I want to learn how to build and improve my blog from scratch and more importantly, that I want to do the work??

Maybe the old cynical side of me is rearing it’s head again.   I don’t know for sure, but there are certain things I have learned.  If I ask the question, I get the answer.  So I will wait for now.  I started this blog just to write, to pursue my desire, get feedback from others and that is what I have done.  Today logic dictated that I stick to my guns.  Keep my $25 in my bank, keep writing learning and carry on with this wonderful happy feeling I get every time I post.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

